Dog Gone, Back Soon by Dr. Nick Trout

Title: Dog Gone, Back Soon Author: Dr. Nick Trout Publisher: Hachette Books Source: Publisher via NetGalley When Dr. Cyrus Mills returned home after inheriting his estranged father’s veterinary practice, The Bedside Manor for Sick Animals, the last thing he wanted was to stay in Eden Falls, Vermont, a moment longer than absolutely necessary.  However, the… Continue reading Dog Gone, Back Soon by Dr. Nick Trout

Malice by Heather Walter

Title: Malice Author: Heather Walter Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine Del Ray Source: NetGalley in exchange for an honest review A princess isn’t supposed to fall for an evil sorceress. But in this “bewitching and fascinating” (Tamora Pierce) retelling of “Sleeping Beauty,” true love is more than a simple fairy tale. “Walter’s spellbinding debut is for… Continue reading Malice by Heather Walter

Astrid Sees All by Natalie Standiford

Title: Astrid Sees All Author: Natalie Standiford Publisher: Atria Books Source: NetGalley in exchange for an honest review New York’s last bohemia—the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s—is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag,… Continue reading Astrid Sees All by Natalie Standiford

Notes from a Young Black Chef by Kwame Onwuachi

Why did I read this book? I read it as one of the 2021 Read Harder Challenge Tasks. What did I think of this book? I picked up the “Adapted for Young Adults” version which was mildly shorter and used language appropriate for young adults. It may have glossed over or not gone into great… Continue reading Notes from a Young Black Chef by Kwame Onwuachi

To Fetch a Felon by Jennifer Hawkins

Title: To Fetch a Felon Author: Jennifer Hawkins Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group Source: NetGalley in exchange for an honest review Emma Reed and her beloved Corgi move from London to Cornwall with the dream of opening a tea shop—but first they’ll have to collar a criminal in the first book in a charming new series. Emma… Continue reading To Fetch a Felon by Jennifer Hawkins

Victories Greater Than Death by Charlie Jane Anders

Title: Victories Greater Than Death Author: Charlie Jane Anders Publisher: Macmillan Tom-Doherty Associates – Tor Teen Source: Publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review Outsmart Your Enemies. Outrun the Galaxy. “Just please, remember what I told you. Run. Don’t stop running for anything.” Tina never worries about being ‘ordinary’–she doesn’t have to, since… Continue reading Victories Greater Than Death by Charlie Jane Anders

Weird Kid by Greg van Eekhout

Title: Weird Kid Author: Greg van Eekhout Publisher: Harper Audio Source: Audio Copy from publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don’t belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb. Jake Wind… Continue reading Weird Kid by Greg van Eekhout

The Haunting at Bonaventure Circus by Jaime Jo Wright

Title: The Haunting at Bonaventure Circus Author: Jaime Jo Wright Publisher: Bethany House Source: The publisher on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review 1928 The Bonaventure Circus is a refuge for many, but Pippa Ripley was rejected from its inner circle as a baby. When she receives mysterious messages from someone called the “Watchman,” she is… Continue reading The Haunting at Bonaventure Circus by Jaime Jo Wright