04.19.16

The Fair Fight by Anna Freeman

Posted in Review at 10:23 am by Amber

Bite Size Book Review

Why did I read this book?

It was a book club pick.

What did I think of this book?

I really enjoyed it. It’s a dense book so don’t expect it to be full of fluff. I was worried that I¬†wouldn’t finish it in time.

Who should read this book?

Anyone who is willing to read a dense book which, on the surface, appears to be about women boxers set in 18th Century England.

04.12.16

Release Day for C is for Chimera

Posted in Event at 11:23 pm by Amber

You know what today is, right? It’s the official release day for C is for Chimera. I received an electronic ARC for review but haven’t read it yet. I misplaced my kindle cord and the poor thing has been sitting dormant for over a month. To date, I still haven’t found it so I ordered another one which arrived yesterday. Guess what book I’m looking forward to reading this week? ūüôā

Below is the official info about it.

This installment of Rhonda Parrish’s alphabet anthology series asks skilled storytellers to write around the theme of chimera. The resulting tales are part fable, part poem, part dream. But like any chimera, the parts make up a greater whole.

Blend reality with fantasy. Mesh science fiction with mystery. Mix history with what should have been. They are all chimera.

A shadow tells a tale of schoolyard bullies. A long-vanished monster returns from the cold dark. Make-up makes up a life. Alchemy, Atlantis, and apocalypse. These 26 tales bring both chaos and closure to dark and elusively fantastic geographies.

Contributing authors include:

~ Alexandra Seidel ~ KV Taylor ~ Marge Simon ~ Pete Aldin ~ Michael M. Jones ~ Simon Kewin ~ BD Wilson ~ Gabrielle Harbowy ~ Sara Cleto ~ Megan Engelhardt ~ Michael Fosburg ~ Megan Arkenberg ~ Lilah Wild ~ Laura VanArendonk Baugh ~ Milo James Fowler ~ Brittany Warman ~ Michael B. Tager ~ L.S. Johnson ~ Beth Cato ~ C.S. MacCath ~ Sammantha Kymmell-Harvey ~ Steve Bornstein ~ Suzanne van Rooyen ~ Michael Kellar ~ Jonathan C. Parrish ~ Amanda C. Davis ~

11.01.15

Jewish Book Month – November 6th to December 6th

Posted in Event at 7:09 am by Amber

In another week or so is Jewish Book Month. The Jewish Book Council designates this month as a time to celebrate and promote Jewish books. It seems most of the Jewish books anyone ever talks about are tales about the Holocaust but there is so much more. Immigrant tales, short story collections, biographies and cookbooks. Will you be reading anything this month?

09.30.15

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

Posted in Review at 9:34 am by Amber

Bite Size Book ReviewWhy did I read this book? I saw the book cover, liked it and noticed the book was written by Holly Black.

What did I think of this book? I really liked it! It has female empowerment and is set in an alternate world where fairies and humans co-exist. Being a hero is sometimes scary and that’s okay. It has action, romance, and is a great example of sibling love.

Who should read this book? I actually told my friend her soon to be thirteen-year-old daughter would like it. It has teens living with the consequences of decisions made years before; while it acknowledges some of the trouble kids can get into I don’t recall anything sexually explicit. Recommended for anyone with an interest in adventures.

09.26.15

Kreativ Blogger Award

Posted in Event at 7:55 am by Amber

Note: The below post is from 2010 and I found it while reviewing what was in my draft folder. I decided to share it instead of deleting it as much of it is still quite true. I think it was never posted because I was tasked with awarding it to five people and I didn’t know who would want to do it.


 

The lovely Lisa Damian of Damian Daily¬†has awarded me with a Kreativ Blogger Award.¬† Now I must tell you five things you do not know about me.¬† I can’t guarantee this information will be new to all of you; my husband is one of my regular readers and he knows quite a bit about me.

Kreativ Blogger Award

1 – In college I wrote a senior thesis on nature symbolism in literature on a Brother Word Processor.¬† At that point it was the longest piece of writing I’d ever done.¬† And it was before computers were a must have for every college student.¬† Only the computer science¬†majors had computers in their dorm rooms and no one I knew had a laptop.¬† The word processor was a life send because I could work on homework anywhere that had an electrical outlet.¬† I remember I used examples¬†from Native American tales and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce to uphold my thesis.

2 – I am allergic to animal dander.¬† I grew up with a dog but it wasn’t until middle school that I realized I was allergic to some animals.¬† The first clue was the angora sweater that made me itch every time I wore it.¬† I didn’t get tested for allergies until 10 years later.¬†¬†I had spent several hours in a one bedroom apartment with friends who had a cat and ended up at emergency care at Duke Medical Center several hours later because I was having problems breathing.¬† That experience made me get allergy tested once I was at home.

3 – I am rarely spontaneous.¬† This post has been in the works since 2/7/10¬†with multiple updates.¬† My husband has been talking about a new refrigerator since mid-2009 and I’ve come around to the idea in the last few months.¬†¬†For over a week now I’ve been looking into manufacturer rebates, government rebates, different models and pricing.

4 РLast month I went for my first facial and it was nothing like I expected.  I honestly thought it was a facial massage with multiple applications of cleansers placed on the skin.  This was like going to see a massage therapist who uses aromatherapy.  It included a foot rub and several massages Рarms, hands, neck and shoulders.

5 РI am lost without an electronic to do list.  Paper lists always get lost or I still forget an item.  I like the sight of the strikethrough font or once my task is completed it disappears.

09.25.15

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Posted in Review at 9:24 am by Amber

Bite Size Book ReviewWhy did I read this book? I kept hearing good things about it without anyone giving anything away other than the title character is an unreliable witness to something.

What did I think of this book? I listened to this during my commute to and from work. The voice actresses were great and didn’t detract from the story one bit. I highly recommend it but with reservations. It has some violence which will turn off some readers.

Who should read this book? Fans of Rear Window or Gillian Flynn. It’s dark. It goes to unexpected places and though it involves more than one character they are all nicely tied together.

09.23.15

All Hallows Read 2015

Posted in Event at 10:30 am by Amber

Guess what time of year it is? It’s time for All Hallows Read! And I’m going to celebrate it in style. This year I belong to a book club where we do bookish things on a monthly basis. Each month has a different hostess and the book choices are varied. I won’t post the picture of the books I picked until after the next book club meeting.

All Hallows Read Bat

The poster above was created by Introverted Wife who has made some great posters for this holiday of book giving. Are you celebrating All Hallows Read this year?

09.22.15

Bite Size Book Reviews

Posted in Review at 8:53 am by Amber

Bite Size Book Review

New this year is the Bite Size Book Review. Much smaller than my normal review it answers the three basic questions: Why did I read it? What did I think of it? Who should read it?

I’m hoping it will help me knock out a bunch of reviews between now and the end of the year. The feedback I get is more immediate from people in my neighborhood and book club but hopefully you will find something that appeals to you. Look for the first Bite Size Book Review later this week.

09.21.15

Mailbox Monday – September 21st

Posted in Event at 8:33 am by Amber

Mailbox Monday

A big thank you to Marcia for originating Mailbox Monday. In this weekly meme you share books which came into your home during the week. I reserved some books at the library this week and heard of some through BookBub.

Here are the books I picked up this week:

Valkyrie Rising by Ingrid Paulson –

Nothing ever happens in Norway. But at least Ellie knows what to expect when she visits her grandmother: a tranquil fishing village and long, slow summer days. And maybe she’ll finally get out from under the shadow of her way-too-perfect big brother, Graham, while she’s there.

What Ellie doesn’t anticipate is Graham’s infuriating best friend, Tuck, tagging along for the trip. Nor did she imagine boys going missing amid rumors of impossible kidnappings. Least of all does she expect that something powerful and ancient will awaken in her and that strange whispers will urge Ellie to claim her place among mythological warriors. Instead of peace and quiet, suddenly there’s a lot for a girl from L.A. to handle on a summer sojourn in Norway! And when Graham vanishes, it’s up to Ellie‚ÄĒand the ever-sarcastic, if undeniably alluring, Tuck‚ÄĒto uncover the truth about all the disappearances and thwart the nefarious plan behind them.

Deadly legends, hidden identities, and tentative romance swirl together in one girl’s unexpectedly epic coming-of-age.

What Stays in Vegas by Beth Labonte –

Bored administrative assistant, Tessa Golden, is trapped in a life of lousy weather, irritating bosses, and mind-numbing secretarial work. Her dreams of being an artist have rapidly deteriorated into building things out of paperclips while on hold with tech support. To make matters even worse, the love of her life has gone off and married another woman.

So when Tessa is suddenly transferred to the Las Vegas branch of her company – playing wingwoman to her freshly divorced boss, juggling a client-from-hell, and catching the eye of one very eligible coworker – will her life finally be shaken up enough to straighten itself out?

What arrived in your mailbox this week?

09.20.15

Bloggiesta Finish Line

Posted in Event at 9:45 pm by Amber

 

The Bloggiesta Finish Line!

The Bloggiesta Finish Line!

It’s Sunday night and I’m about ready to cross the Bloggiesta Finish Line. Below is the list of goals I created and the progress I made:

  1. Schedule post about my All Hallows Reads plan. Done! Look for that later this week.
  2. Schedule three mini-bite reviews. Done! I wrote them, scheduled them, and even started on a fourth one.
  3. Blogroll Overhaul mini-challenge. Done! I started off with 10 links on my blogroll. Said goodbye to dead link for Coyote Con, removed an author I no longer really follow and added links for Beth Cato, one of my writing friends, and several writer-friendly sites: NaNoLJers, NaNoWriMo and World Weaver Press. I ended up with a total of 12 sites. Additionally I updated my Biography page which hadn’t been updated since 2009.
  4. Update three of my blog templates. While reviewing my templates, it seems I only have two templates. One is for book reviews and the other is for Mailbox Monday. I didn’t update either one.

I had limited time this weekend but managed to participate in two chats and get some things done on my blog. Overall I’m pretty pleased with the time and effort I put into it. I even had a badge created for a new feature on the blog. I hope you’ll like it!

« Previous entries Next Page » Next Page »