Kitty Goes to Washington by Carrie Vaughn

Posted in Review at 10:12 am by Amber

Kitty and all of her friends (plus a few enemies) return in Kitty Goes to Washington.  One fear with a series is that a lot of information about the characters will be left out.  Vaughn keeps the reader up to speed on what happened in the first book without boring details.  In fact, she gives enough information to hook the reader into wanting to go back and read the previous book. 

In Kitty Goes to Washington, Kitty is asked to testify before the U.S. Senate.  The road trip is short since she’s left Denver, Colorado and taken her show on the road.  In D.C. she meets a were-jaguar and comes under the protection of the city’s vampire mistress.  She makes some lifelong friends and enemies. 

One quibble I initially had is how a minor enemy (an evangelical preacher) that appeared in the last book was dealt with in this one.  Thinking back on it, though, Vaughn handled it quite well.  She could bring back the character or his followers in a short story if she wished to explore his storyline further but he served his purpose and there was no point in dragging it out for another book (or two).

It’s a good thing Vaughn decided Kitty needed to get out of Colorado.  As a DJ with a talk show about the supernatural Kitty can only draw on her experience and research to provide answers to her callers.  Expanding Kitty’s territory exposes her to new experiences and other supernatural beings.

Vaughn included a playlist for this book just like with Kitty and the Midnight Hour.  Here it is:
The Watchmen, “Together”
Peter Gabriel, “Games Without Frontiers”
Oingo Boingo, “No Spill Blood”
The Clash, “Know Your Rights”
Suzanne Vega, “Tombstone”
Shriekback, “Nemesis”
Pet Shop Boys, “DJ Culture”
Pink Floyd, “Us and Them”
Aqua, “Doctor Jones”
Prince, “Kiss”
Too Much Joy, “You Will”
The Clash, “(White Man) In Hammersmith Palais”
The Beatles, “Across the Universe” (Let it Be. . .  Naked version)
New Order, “True Faith-94”


Kitty and The Midnight Hour by Carrie Vaughn

Posted in Review at 9:00 am by Amber

Kitty and The Midnight Hour is the first book in the Kitty Norville series.  Kitty is a Denver DJ who takes over the midnight shift.  She’s been a lycanthrope for several years.  Her condition is a secret from her human friends and family.  Instead of playing music (because none of the callers requested music made before 1989) she starts a call-in show titled “The Midnight Hour” which is a hit with listeners.

In this book we learn how she became a werewolf, and about werewolf pack and vampire family dynamics.  It’s one long setup for the remainder of the series but Carrie Vaughn makes it an enjoyable read.  Werewolves, vampires, evangelical ministers, a sexy mercenary and crime scenes become intermingled.  Kitty and her life are not perfect.  Just like the rest of us, she’s trying to do the best she can while remaining true to herself. 

I read this in a few hours because I wanted to know what would happen next.  Not all of the conflicts between Kitty and the other characters are resolved at the end.  I’m so glad because now I can read the rest of the series and get to know Kitty Norville even better.

Here’s a playlist that you can listen to while reading the book:
Creedence Clearwater Revival, “Bad Mood Rising”
Concrete Blonde, “Bloodletting”
Siouxsie and the Banshees, “Peek-a-Boo”
No Doubt, “Just a Girl”
Garbage, “When I Grow Up”
David Bowie, “Let’s Dance”
They Might Be Giants, “Man, It’s So Loud in Here”
Oingo Boingo, “Skin”
Creedence Clearwater Revival, “Long as I Can See the Light”
The Sisters of Mercy, “Lucretia My Reflection”
Rasputina, “Olde Headboard”
Depeche Mode, “Halo”
The Canadian Brass Band, Bach’s “Sheep May Safely Graze”
The Clash, “Train in Vain”
Peter Murphy, “I’ll Fall With Your Knife”

« Previous Page « Previous Page Next entries »